Seeking God’s Will

Sunday, August 10, 2014

Seeking God’s Will

Psalm 25:4 Shew me thy ways, O LORD; teach me thy paths.

As parents we are in constant showing and teaching to our children no matter their age. As our babies begin to crawl we have to teach them not to eat things off the floor and stick their fingers or objects into outlets. When they start to walk and stumble here and there, we are arms ready to quickly rescues them from falling and getting hurt. As our children grow and become more independent to play outside, we have to teach them about our boundary lines and stranger danger. As peer pressure kicks in, we have to teach with lots of prayer, love, sharing our youthful experiences and sometimes be silent as their lessons are being learned. It is not easy being a parent. I have one just now walking, I have to constantly save her from walking off the front porch, because like us Christians she does not see the dip from the porch to the sidewalk; she only sees straight ahead. With my independent 9 year old I have had to place boundaries on where he can ride his bike while looking both ways, not talking to strangers or going into anyone’s house. Just like us Christians sometimes we go where we don’t belong. Then there is my 13 year old daughter, I am constantly showing patience and grace toward as I am teaching her with love and sharing my past experiences of my youth. God like us parents has given us Christians instructions with lots of wisdom and experience, “the Bible.” If you really think about it our relationship with God is not much different from ours as a parent with our children. God is constantly redirecting us when our focus gets off His will and onto the world. He is always warning us of barriers ahead and to not listen to the wrong voice, but only to His. God sometimes has to be silent while still standing right next to us and order for us to finally pass the test of worldly pressures. Like our children we need to be shown the right ways and taught the right paths. God has a will sought out for us and we need to be in constant fellowship with Him in order to be walking on His path He directed us to, (Proverbs 3:6).

Lord Father thank You for having great plans for my life, (Jeremiah 29:11). I am thankful that even when I venture off course, You guide me back with loving arms to the path You have sought for me. I pray to be a reflection of Your mercy, grace, love and patience with my children as I teach them to seek Your heart and will, in Jesus name I pray, Amen.

Leave a Reply

