The Value of Encouragement 

The Value of Encouragement
Joshua 1:9 Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the Lord thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest. 
If you are familiar with Joshua, you know that he was one of the twelve spies Moses sent out to survey the land of, Canaan and their enemies, “Numbers 13:17-25.” When the spies returned all of them, but Caleb and Joshua, warned against going up to take the land from their enemies, “Numbers 13:26-33, Numbers 14:1-5.” Both Caleb and Joshua encouraged that they take the land, because, God was with them, “Numbers 14:6-9.” 

Now we fast forward to the book of Joshua, where Moses has died and now Joshua is leading the Israelites into the promise land.

The same encouragement that Joshua gave to the congregation back in the book of Numbers, is the same encouragement God is giving Joshua now. 

Here is where these two books tie the knot for me in my current season I am in right now. Back in the summer last year, me and my friend started a bootcamp ministry at our church. We encouraged those who came to the bootcamp, through devotions, prayer and word of encouragement throughout the summer.

 During the fall of last year I had a total hysterectomy, which set me back a lot on my fitness journey. It has not been easy to get back into the swing of things, when it comes to my fitness motivation. I have shut out a lot of my past accomplishments up till my hysterectomy, because of the strength I have lost and the weight I have gained. The other day I went on our bootcamp page to get some photos of us, to put on a flyer for an upcoming bootcamp this spring. As I went through pictures and read some of the encouraging post, I couldn’t help but think about Joshua and his need for encouragement after Moses died. 

How quick are we to encourage others, and forget the words we spoke the moment we face opposition. Like Joshua, we need a heaping of the same encouragement, we once spoke over others, to be given to us. If we open our hearts, God will fill it with His strength, courage, determination and the abilities to face a new season as He has done in times past. 
Lord, I know that no matter how far I run, You will always bring me back to face past accomplishments in order to be encouraged to face my new season. I am grateful for the bootcamp ministry and my sweet sister in Christ who has been a huge support system for me. I pray to regain my strength through You so that I can lead those who are looking for the same encouragement in Christ, in Your name Jesus I pray, Amen. 

1 thought on “The Value of Encouragement 

Leave a comment