Amazing Grace

Monday, August 11, 2014

Amazing Grace

Ephesians 2:8 For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God:

Crave a little time out today and get alone with God and His Word. Turn in your Bible to Ephesians 2:1-10 and prayerfully read these verses. Take some time and mediate on the fact that God has given us the gift of salvation and saved a wretch like you and me with His AMAZING GRACE! When I sing that song “Amazing Grace,” it sends chills up my spin, my heart swells with joy and tears of happiness roll down my cheek as I think about how my Father showered me with grace I was not worthy of. This song was written by a man named John Newton, who himself felt unworthy of the grace from God. He spent years as a brutal slave trader on the sea. Like Paul and all of us, he had his Damascus road encounter with Christ, that changed his heart to live for Jesus and not this world any longer. When our lives are rooted in God, unchanging grace can never be uprooted. I once was lost, but praise God this girl is now found in Christ. I was blind to the lies of this world, but hallelujah Jesus has healed my eyes and now I can see! When I think back to my encounter with Christ on January 5, 2011 it was a sweet sound of His amazing grace and the love He had given to this wretch. God took my sins and cast them as far as the east is from the west, He cleansed me in the blood of the lamb, clothed me in His righteousness and sealed me as His daughter. Newton said it best, when he wrote the song “Amazing Grace.”

Heavenly Father, it is by Your amazing grace that we are saved. Father I am thankful that you took this wretch and made her new in Christ. My righteousness is but of filthy rages, and I am unworthy of Your grace, but You Lord seen worth and gave me salvation through Your amazing grace. I pray that I will use my testimony as once being lost and blind, to now being found and able to see; for others to find salvation in Christ, in Jesus name I pray, Amen.

Leave a comment